In its quest to improve account security, Facebook has unlocked a new feature that uses text message confirmations to prevent unauthorized account access.
Login Approvals is simple: before your Facebook account can be accessed from a new computer, Facebook will send you a text with an access code. You then have to type in that code before accessing your Facebook account.
Once the account challenge is completed, you can choose to save that computer as a trusted device, which will prevent the Login Approval popup from appearing again. If you lose your phone, you can still access your account from these trusted devices and use that to authorize access to a new device.
Login Approvals is now available as an opt-in feature in Facebook’s account settings. It was built by Andrew Song, one of Facebook’s engineering interns.
As users pour more information into their Facebook accounts, the social network has been ramping up its efforts to improve security. Facebook has implemented temporary passwords via SMS and in the past year introduced a remote logout feature. It’s all part of Facebook’s efforts to stop phishing scams and clickjacking attacks, a problem that just won’t seem to go away.